Nigel Hirst announced as next VP as IChemE vote opens – News

LR: Nigel Hirst and David Edwards

NIGEL Hirst will be the next Vice President of IChemE, while David Edwards will join the Board of Directors as Honorary Treasurer.

Members can now vote to fill three contested seats, which include a final board seat and two early-career congressional positions. Two members are vying for the seat of the Board of Directors and three members are vying for the seats of Congress. The uncontested nominees for the Board of Directors will be formally elected at an annual general meeting on June 14, along with seven uncontested nominees for Congress.

After 12 months as deputy to the present, Nigel Hirst will become the president of IChemE for 2023/24. Hirst is a Fellow of IChemE and Chairman of the Haden Freeman Group, a process engineering consultancy serving the chemical industry. He has particular experience in design, construction and financial services. His career spans over 40 years and has seen him support private, commercial and charitable organizations in the chemical, environmental management, nuclear, oil and gas and pharmaceutical sectors. at the International scale.

During this time, Hirst has also been an active volunteer with IChemE, including as Chair of the IChemE Global Awards Jury and as a member of the Pharma Special Interest Group (SIG). His most recent positions were as Inaugural President of Congress and member of the Steering Committee of ChemEng Evolution.

In his election statement, Hirst said, “I share the ambition of many members who want our institution to be vibrant, support members and contribute to society. Continued focus is needed to complete ongoing work to reform and modernize [IChemE].

“We need to have good business practices in place with the resources to manage them effectively and ethically, and be relevant to the rapidly changing workplaces where many members find themselves.

“IChemE’s leadership must also be outward looking, helping governments and communities meet the challenges to which we are well equipped to contribute.”

The new Honorary Treasurer Edwards is a member of IChemE with experience in techno-economic assessment of petrochemical plants, development of petroleum refinery models and oil price analysis.

He has held various positions in companies and universities developing expertise in process safety and economics. This has included fulfilling the role of ‘economics expert’ to support final year design projects at Imperial College London, UK; research cost estimation, inherent safety and the health and environmental impact of chemical plants at Loughborough University; and working at KBR for 14 years, implementing Hazard and Operability Studies (HAZOP) on and at sea and Front End Engineering Design (FEED) studies worldwide.

Edwards has been a volunteer with IChemE for over 20 years in a variety of roles, including editor of Safety of the Process safety and environmental protection journal and book co-author Trevor Kletz Compendium – His Process Safety Wisdom Updated for a New Generation published in 2021.

The ballot is now open to members eligible to vote on the three seats in contention and will close at 09:30 BST on 20 May 2022.

Roger Kilburn and Raffaella Ocone are the candidates vying for a seat as a regional board member. While Gabriela Campos Balzat, James Hill and Martha Obasuti are vying for two early career congressional seats.

Members are encouraged to consult the candidates’ election statementswhich have been developed in video format as well as in written format.

Voting Members (Fellow and Chartered Members) will be assigned two separate Unique Voter Codes (UVCs): one for voting on Special Resolutions (Amendments to Bylaws) and one for participating in Elections.

For election details, how to vote, and to see all undisputed administrators and congressmen, visit the IChemE Elections page.